The first settlement at Johnson was made in the 1860s. Johnson was platted in 1881 when the railroad was extended to that point and the village was named for Julius A. Johnson, the original owner of the town site.
The village recently developed “Gazebo Park” in downtown Johnson. Volunteers refurbished a gazebo that has been part of Johnson’s history for over 100 years. The gazebo is the focal point of this pocket park.
Johnson holds their annual Father’s Day Chicken BBQ each year on Father’s Day Weekend. 2019 was the 55th year for the event. Many additional activities are planned throughout the weekend that draws over a 1,000 people each year.
Sportsman’s Park, built in 2001, is home to two softball and baseball diamonds, sand volleyball court, a half-mile walking trail, picnic shelter and playground.
Johnson-Brock High school football field has field turf rather than natural grass—a feature unique for a school the size of Johnson-Brock.
Volunteers manage the Library and Community Center where after school programs are held for youth in the community.
The Johnson Rag is a local weekly newspaper published by an all-volunteer staff.